SOCIETY OF AUTOMOTIVE ENGINEERS(SAE)

SOCIETY OF AUTOMOTIVE ENGINEERS (SAE) is a leading world's largest technical professional engineering society automotive engineers. Its members contribute to the advancement of the research, development, design, manufacture and utilization of vehicles which operate on land, water, air and space.SAEINDIA member become a part of a global organization whose benefits are geared specifically to the needs of the mobility engineering community. The formal education and professional development will be enhanced through SAEINDIA membership.

VISION AND MISSION OF THE SAE

Vision

To Continuously Enrich Knowledge Base of Practitioners in Mobility Industry and Institutions in the Service of Humanity.

Mission

- > To enhance the knowledge base of members who are mobility practitioners within India
- > To provide to its members access to SAE International programs and services globally enabling them to practice world class standard in productivity and quality
- > To develop technical and scientific reports and engineering standards for the benefit of mankind
- > To provide a forum for members to informally exchange views and ideas

SAE COLLEGIATE CLUB INAUGURATION



PIT-SAEINDIAcollegiate club was inaugurated on 8th JANUARY, 2015 by the chief guest of the event Mr C.SAKTHI KUMAR M.E., Director, Panimalar Group of institutions. The inaugurated presided over by Dr.P.CHINNADURAI MA., Ph.D., Secretary and correspondent Panimalar Group of institutions.



DR.T.JAYANTHY.M,E., Ph.D.,Principal Panimalar Institute of Technology welcomed the gathering. PROF.DR.D.MURUGANANDAM.M,E.,Ph.D. SAE-Management Committee Member gave the Introduction about SAEINDIA collegiate Club. Dr.N.NITHIYANANDAN M.E.,Ph.D., HOD-Mechanical Department introduce the office bearers MR.K.JOSEPH VINODHRAJ.B.E.,M.B.A., Divisional Manager-Global bus Ashok Leyland Chennai had Presented the guest lecture about Emerging trends in the bus industry.Prof.Dr.I.PaulTheophilusRajakumar ,Department of Mechanical Engineering had proposed the vote of thanks.

AERO MODELLING - 2016

The SAEINDIA southern section (SAE ISS) has taken up an initiative to start the Aero Design Challenge in India which was previously being conducted in the United States of America. In this competition, the Students are required to use their engineering skills to conceive an aircraft of their own.



Team Falconz with Director, Principal & HOD



Fabricated Parts



Aircraft Assembly



Trial run of Aircraft during the event at Hindustan University

Our team FALCONZ from **Panimalar Institute of Technology** has participated in the regular class held at Chennai on 16/03/2016 to 19/03/2016. The aircraft was made out of Balsa Wood which was cut to specified dimensions and assembled using cohesive substance, for the propulsion of a 50 cc Glow engine, the aileron controls were controlled by servo motors. The aircraft was covered with a foil to give it a finished look. The entire cost of manufacturing the aircraft and the computational resources were fully sponsored by our institution. Our team FALCONZ secured **THIRD** position with a **BEST DESIGN** award.



Team:

- 1. Philemon.P
- 2. Rajkumar.V
- 3. ArjunPrakash.M
- 4. Jason Daniel M
- 5. Mohan Raj S
- 6. Nanda Kumar M
- 7. SathyaNarayanan.S
- 8. HarwinRamoj.R
- 9. NaveethImran.N
- 10. Dhanush.C

Faculty In-charge:

- 1. Mr. K.Balasubramanian
- 2. Mr. S.Manoharan.

ECO-KART - 2015

Eco-kart is a Competition is a Design and fabricate a single passenger kart which is operated by a Motor, where Source of running the motor is a battery.



Mysterious Mechster with Director & HOD

The Competition will not only help Students to build an interest towards Automobiles but also help them to incorporate Team work and management skills within themselves.



Fabrication of Eco-Kart



Mysterious Mechster team at BML Munjal University

In the virtual round our team secured 21st place among 94 colleges & Universities in India and nominated for **Best Innovations**. Dynamic round was conducted in **BML Haryana**during 10/03/2016 to 13/03/2016. In Dynamic round Mysterious Mechster maintained time management, discipline & good team coordination which resulted **Best Captain** title. Mysterious Mechster is the one and only team to use **Hub Motor** for propelling the wheel

Team:

- 1. S. Gokula Krishnan
- 2. J. Venkatesan
- 3. R. Vignesh
- 4. R. Logendran
- 5. S. Vignesh
- 6. S. Hari Krishnan
- 7. S. Ramprasad
- 8. V. Ajith
- 9. S. Aravind
- 10.P. Sounder
- 11. S. Akash
- 12.A. Mugilan
- 13. A. Hariish
- 14. VeeramaniLogeswarn

Faculty In-charge:

Mr. D. Gopinath

EFFI-CYCLE - 2015

EFFI-CYCLE event promote the objective of providing opportunity to the students to conceive, design and fabricate a three wheel configuration vehicle powered by human-electric hybrid power and capable of seating two passengers catering to the day to day mobility needs.



Team Rumling Infernos with Director, Principal & HOD



During Fabrication work

The vehicle must be aerodynamic, engineered for performance & safety and ergonomically designed. The objective is to promote innovation and generate consciousness amongst the young engineers towards environment friendly mobility solution. This event provides opportunity for the engineering students by setting up the trend of using eco-friendly vehicle in India and come up with some innovative designs.



During Fabrication work



Rumling infernos at Lovely Professional University

Our team **RUMLING INFERNOS** qualified virtual round held at Chameli Devi Institute of Technology and Management, Indore and qualified for the dynamic round. Participated Dynamic event held at LOVELY PROFESSIONAL UNIVERSITY (LPU), Jalandar on 15/11/2015 to 18/11/2015 and secured 58 position.



Team-1: TECHNIEK CYCLUS

- 1. S. Siva Prakash
- 2. S. Gokula Krishnan
- 3. R. Logendran
- 4. S. Venkateshwaran
- 5. G. Vignesh
- 6. S. Vignesh
- 7. S. Logeshwaran
- 8. J. Arul Daniel
- 9. J. Venkatesan
- 10, S. Hari Krishnan

Faculty In-charge:

1. Mr. S .Louies Praveen

Team-2: RUMLING INFERNOS

- 1. K.S.Arun
- 2. R.BalaAnand
- 3. P. Bhuvaneswaran
- 4. F.S. Gerard Amalan
- 5. M. Neeraj Kumar
- 6. R. Bharath Kumar
- 7. D. Gokul
- 8. T. Dhayanithi
- 9. S. Sathyanarayan
- 10. C. Dhanush

Faculty In-charge:

1. Mr. C. Parthasarathy